i speak veganese

Hey, I haven’t burned the house down yet!

So far

So my favorite food to work with since embarking on this journey so far has got to be the black bean.  Well, there are the staples like brown rice, wheat bread and pastas, wheat tortillas, etc.  They are acting like fillers for me just yet.  But this black bean! It just tastes so good and it’s so versatile!

Also, I’ve learned that protein is for some an issue and for others a non-issue with restricted diets.  I’m not sure which camp has it right just yet.  But, at the moment, I try to make sure I get good sources of protein till I know better.  The black bean seems to be high enough on the protein chain.

It’s funny because I never liked it before I cut out the meat.  Strange.  These days I use it with brown rice alone or with brown rice wrapped in tortillas.  I recently made my own version of a Mexican Black Bean Soup that included corn, salsa, celery, and green peppers, with a little dash of hot sauce for a kick.  I would add a picture and a real recipe here, but (burp) I don’t know what happened to the dish.  I hope I have better luck with that next time.  Although, truth be told, I’m a horrible photographer, so you’re not missing much.

Speaking of image-making, I’m in grad school right now for painting, so between that and my family,  it’s difficult to find time for other things.  But I do try to find the time to go to the gym three to four times a week.  The last two weeks I haven’t really kept to that because there are some final reviews and I’ve been under the weather.  But, I’m anxious to get back to it.

My favorite activity was walking when I began working out back in June.  At the time I was working full time and during my lunch breaks, I’d just plug in my iPod and go.  But, since coming to school in the fall, I’ve made use of the university’s gym and there has been such progress in my fitness level that I began running on a treadmill! I can run up to four miles at a time now.  When I was in high school, I couldn’t run one without a break! I’ve come a long way baby!

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

