i speak veganese

Hey, I haven’t burned the house down yet!

Breakfast Bars!

breakfastbars2

Look Ma! I’m cooking!!

I can’t believe it!! I decided to go buy some of the more usual ingredients I have been seeing in the recipes I like from….well, everywhere! I had seen the segment on Breakfast Bars from Vegan A Go-Go a while back and I figured I might not blow up the neighborhood trying that. Okay, true to form, I actually didn’t follow the recipe exactly because I didn’t get it from the web before I saw the video on my iPod. But, hey, my stove is still in tact. My ingredients were more like sesame seeds, almonds, and fresh cranberries (with a little cane sugar added for these), and the rest of the ingredients (peanut butter, agave nectar, etc.) were the ones from the show. Anyway, even with the subs, they came out great!! I loved them! Too bad my oven took so long to bake them crunchy. They’re more like brunch bars!

Well, after I patted myself on the back for these, I decided to test out some Tofu Scramble. Hey, may as well have breakfast for dinner since I was having brunch for lunch, right? I used tamari, sea salt, nutritional yeast powder, green peppers, etc. I didn’t get a picture of it because it jumped into my mouth so fast. Like literally, jumped off the plate into my mouth. I ate the whole dish and was mad that I hadn’t made more. It tasted better than the scrambled eggs I used to cook. Unbelievable. When I told my mom, she was like, “Yeah, you want it to taste better.” I can’t blame her. I am somewhat a tofu skeptic myself. I’m still trying to wrap my brain around how to eat it as anything else when it’s so spongy. It kind of related well to scrambled eggs. But I’ve seen recipes where you can cube them and eat them as like cutlets. Huh??? Not getting it yet. I guess I’ll have to try that and see.

For my last experiment though, I tried some vanilla soy ice cream called Toffuti and, well, I just don’t know why I never went vegan sooner.

I got some great cookbooks this weekend too. That’s where the inspiration came from. I already had Skinny B*tch by Rory Freedman and Kim Barnouin. It was the last kick to really go vegan. This weekend I got the sequel book called Skinny B*tch in the Kitch. By the look of those titles, you may be surprised to know these girls cuss like sailors 😉 , but the books are pretty informative and humorous. And, thankfully, for folks like me, because of they’re seemingly super lax approach, the cookbook directions are very simple to follow. Just be sure to skip every other word you read. I also got Vegan Planet by Robin Robertson. But the fun didn’t stop there. Oh no. I had to really break the bank and get a brand new Oster Fusion Blender to go wth my Bella Cucina Rocket Blender. Merry Christmas to me y’all!

2 Comments»

  Sally Parrott Ashbrook wrote @

If you get extra-firm tofu and press it under your weighted cutting board for about half an hour to get most of the extra water out, you can indeed coat it in seasonings and cook it as cutlets. Tofu is pretty great, once you’re used to it, because it takes on the flavor of whatever you do to it. You just have to keep that in mind and kick up your seasoning a bit if you’re using an originally non-tofu recipe.

  babystace wrote @

What a coincidence that you wrote about cutlets! That is the very variation on tofu that I tried yesterday and they were delicious!!! I really can’t believe how vegan food has gotten such a bad rap amongst meat-eaters (I know from being one not that long ago). So far, I have found that vegan meals have endless possibilities and they are all pretty tasty too (not to mention that a box of tofu is easier on the pocket than a package of meat any day).

Oh…I just checked this original post…Duh! I was talking about cutlets, lol!! Anyway, thanks for posting!


Leave a Reply

